About Us

Australian Payments Plus will have a representative governance structure involving a diverse range of payment users

Australian Payments Plus Board

The Board of Australian Payments Plus will have 13 Directors, composed of four independent Directors (including the Chair), four Directors representing each of the four major banks, three Directors drawn from non-ADI shareholders, and two Directors representing non-major ADI’s. One of the independent Directors will have experience with small business.

Each Director will have one equal vote.

A key focus for the Board will be delivering the set of prescribed services provided in an undertaking accepted by the ACCC, as part of a broader unified roadmap of payments services across the three organisations.

Advisory Committees:

Two Advisory Committees will ensure that the Australian Payments Plus Board has a strong understanding of the needs and interests of key stakeholders.

End User Committee

Represents the views of end-users of the BPAY, eftpos and NPP services, namely individual consumers, small businesses, big businesses, industry associations, charities, corporations, fintech, and government departments.

Payment Service Provider Committee

Represents the interests of the payment service providers (PSP’s) and other organisations in the payments ecosystem (ie Token Servicers and Digital ID Service Providers).

An Independent Director from the Board will act as a chair for each Committee. Each Committee will publicly report on their progress on an annual basis.

Australian Payments Plus Chair

Catherine Brenner, Independent Chair

Catherine Brenner, Independent Chair, BEcLLB MBA FAICD

Catherine was appointed as the inaugural Independent Non Executive Chair of Australian Payments Plus in August 2021.

Catherine has extensive financial services and board experience and has held roles across many sectors. She is currently a non-executive director of organisations including Distributed Carbon, the carbon rating Emmi platform, the George Institute for Global Health and Australian Schools Plus. Catherine was previously a director of companies including Coca Cola Amatil and Boral and was Chair of AMP. She has been a Trustee of the Sydney Opera House and the Art Gallery of NSW and a member of the Takeovers Panel. Catherine worked as a senior investment banker at ABN AMRO and BZW. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a member of Chief Executive Women and a Panel Member at Adara Partners.